Music Department

Mr. Jamieson

Mrs. Gerbracht







The South Newton Middle School Choir traveled to Clinton Prairie High School in Frankfort for their I.S.S.M.A. Organization Contest on Saturday, April 10. 
The combined sixth, seventh and eight grade chorus competed in group three and received a gold (first place) rating. They performed “Saints On Parade”, arr. Gallina; “Something told the Wild Geese” by Porterfield and “Ching A Ring Chaw (and Great Gittin’ Up Mornin’)” arr. Spevecek. Their director is Ellen Gerbracht and their accompanist is Jeff Goodspeed from West Lafayette. 
Our thanks go to the bus driver, parents and chaperones who helped us on that day. 


Circle the State with Song Participants
Mari Adams, Dawson Cadle, Alex Irwin, Alex Kindig, Krizma Mackey, Alexis McDannel, Reese Meyer, Steven Montemayer, Chris Moss, James Pelnarsh, Zoe Tsaparikis, Caleb Williamson and Javen Wright. Not pictured: Kaden Rausch




Congratulations to Allie Inman, Steven Montemayer, Cameron O'Hare, Grace Narcaroti, and Zoe Tsaparikos for being selected to participate in the annual Drum Corps International Indiana INpact Band! In August, they will travel to Lucas Oil Stadium to perform with 500 other Indiana middle school band students! There, they will perform before Drum Corps International Finals!

On Saturday, February 5, many South Newton high school and middle school students traveled to Kankakee Valley MS to perform for the Indiana State School Music Association solo and ensemble contest. Congratulations to these students for their great performances!

Gold rating soloists:
Autumn Blacklidge: Flute Solo
Kiarra Battering: Clarinet Solo
Lucas Denton: Trumpet Solo
Lucas Denton: Horn Solo
Michaela Hanley: Clarinet Solo
Cameron O'Hare: Snare Drum Solo
Cameron O'Hare: Mallet Solo
Ethan Polen: Alto Saxophone Solo
Gabby Shoemaker: Alto Saxophone Solo
Kynon Sell: Snare Drum Solo
Will Smart: Snare Drum Solo
Alex Tsaparikos: Tuba Solo

Silver rating soloists:
Marianne Adams: Bass Clarinet Solo
Jasmine Brown: Alto Saxophone Solo
Tyler Langreder: Horn Solo
Piper Sell: Oboe Solo
Sage Whaley: Mallet Solo

Gold rating ensembles:
Eilers Brass Trio Trio: Philip Eilers, Andrew Kindig, Josh Peterson
Florian Clarinet Quintet: Marianne Adams, Kiarra Battering, Michaela Hanley, Kayla Florian,
Sam Hernandez
Griffin Trumpet Trio: Madison Delpino, Santoria Griffin, Levi Mueller
Mick Trumpet Trio: Lucas Denton, Aden Mick, Levi Mueller
Smolik Percussion Trio: Trevor Hoeferlin, Brandon Gilliam, Jameson Smolik
Wirtz Woodwind trio: Savannah Holt, Ethan Polen, Ethan Polen

Silver rating ensembles: 
Contrad Woodwind Trio: Kara Conrad, Lea Conrad, Kylee Sutherlin
Langreder Brass Quartet: Lucas Denton, Tyler Langreder, Collin Narcaroti, Alex Tsaparikos
Rudisill Brass Trio: Madison Delpino, Jonathon Gilliam, Caleb Rudisill
Shoemaker Woodwind Trio: Marianne Adams, Jasmine Brown, Gabby Shoemaker

Additionally, Lucas Denton, Cameron O’Hare, and Alex Tsaparikos will travel to North Central High School on February 27 to perform at the state level! They received gold ratings on their group I solos!


Alex Tsaparikos for being nominated and selected for the Indiana State University All Star Honor Band. On January 22-24, Alex will travel to Indiana State University to rehearse and perform with many other talented Indiana High School students.



Congratulations to Andrew Kindig, Grace Narcaroti, Cameron O'Hare, and Samantha Warren for being nominated and selected for the 2015 Indiana Bandmaster's Association All-Region Band! On Saturday and Sunday November 14 and 15, they traveled to Kankakee Valley High School to rehearse and perform with over 100 quality area middle school students! Congratulations Andrew, Grace, Cameron, and Samantha!

Congratulations to Lucas Denton and Alex Tsaparikos for being nominated and selected for the 2015 Indiana Bandmaster's Association All-District Honor Band! On Saturday and Sunday November 21 and 22, they traveled to Knox High School to rehearse and perform with over 100 quality area high school students! Congratulations Lucas and Alex!